Skip to main content

Regional benchmark

What is in Orange County's tap water, across all 28 districts

We read the published water quality report of every retail water district in Orange County, California. That is 28 districts covering 31 public water systems and 3.2 million people, and we pulled out every contaminant they report. That is 282 measured results, every one of them from a district’s own document rather than from our national reconstruction.

What we found

  • Nothing here is over a limit that binds today. Across every contaminant and every district, not one county figure sits above a legal limit currently in force.
  • Lead is the strongest result in the county. 24 of 28 districts report no detectable lead at the 90th percentile of the homes they sampled, and none of the rest is near the action level.
  • Disinfection byproducts are the real story. The county’s median trihalomethane level is 31 ppb, and 9 of 28 districts average at or above the 41 ppb level where pooled human data shows cancer risk rising. All of them are legal.
  • Two counties in one. South Orange County buys treated water imported from the Colorado River and Northern California; north and central cities pump local groundwater. That single fact drives most of the spread in the table below, and it is a source-water story rather than a competence story.
  • The water is hard. A median of 242 milligrams per litre across 24 districts, which is hard to very hard. That is a scale-and-appliance problem, not a health one.
28 retail districts read
282 measured results
24 of 28 report no detectable lead
3.2 million people served

Every contaminant the county's districts publish

These are the ones enough districts report for a county figure to mean something. We state one only where at least 17 of 28 districts published a number, because a median over a handful of districts mostly describes which reports we could obtain rather than the county’s water.

Everything with enough district coverage for a county figure: how many districts report each one, the county's typical level and range, and how many sit over the health-based line.
ContaminantDistricts reportingTypical levelOver the line
Total trihalomethanes (TTHM) measured in ppb · legal limit 80 28 of 2828 published a number 31 ppbcounty range 2 to 59 9 at or above 41 ppb
Haloacetic acids (HAA5) measured in ppb · legal limit 60 27 of 2827 published a number, 1 reported no detection 10 ppbcounty range 3 to 28 0 at or above 60 ppb
Fluoride measured in ppm · legal limit 4 28 of 2828 published a number 0.445 ppmcounty range 0.16 to 0.7 0 at or above 2 ppm
Nitrate measured in ppm · legal limit 10 20 of 2820 published a number, 1 reported no detection, 7 published no value 2 ppmcounty range 0.42 to 3.4 0 at or above 10 ppm
Hexavalent chromium measured in ppb · no federal limit 17 of 2817 published a number, 1 reported no detection, 10 published no value 0.61 ppbcounty range 0.1 to 2.6 17 detected at or above 0.1 ppb

“Over the line” means different things by contaminant, and the table says which on every row. For most it is a health-based concentration. For hexavalent chromium it is a laboratory detection, because California’s health goal for it sits below what any instrument can measure, so counting districts “above” it would flag every detection by arithmetic and mean “found” rather than “high”.

Lead and copper: measured at the tap, not in the supply

Lead and copper behave differently from everything else here: they are a property of your plumbing, not of the water a district delivers. Both enter between the water main and the tap, so a district measures them by sampling inside a set of higher-risk homes and reporting the 90th percentile. That number describes those homes, not the supply, which is why it sits here rather than in the table above.

It is also the best news in the county. 24 of 28 districts report no detectable lead at all. 4 report a number, and the highest of those is 6 ppb, against a federal action level of 10 ppb. Copper is present everywhere, as it is anywhere with copper pipe, at a county median of 0.17 ppm against a 1.3 ppm action level.

None of that describes your house. A district’s 90th percentile is drawn from a sample of homes chosen to be higher-risk than average, and your own plumbing, fixtures and how long water sits in them decide what comes out of your tap. It is the one thing on this page that only a test at your own tap can answer.

What too few districts report to say anything about

We hold readings for the rest of the panel too, from too few districts to state a county figure. They are listed because leaving them out would imply we looked at nothing else, and because the reason a cell is empty matters. An empty cell means one of three things: the district tested and found nothing, the district published no value, or we have a gap in our own reading.

What we hold for fewer than 17 of the county's 28 districts. No county figure is stated for these; the coverage is shown instead.
ContaminantDistricts reportingTypical levelOver the line
Arsenic measured in ppb · legal limit 10 12 of 2812 published a number, 7 reported no detection, 8 published no value, 1 not held by us not statedtoo few districts reported for a county figure to mean anything (we state one at 17 of 28) 10 detected at or above 2 ppb
Manganese measured in ppb · no federal limit 10 of 2810 published a number, 4 reported no detection, 14 not held by us not statedtoo few districts reported for a county figure to mean anything (we state one at 17 of 28) 0 at or above 100 ppb
PFOA measured in ppt · legal limit 4, binding from 2029 5 of 285 published a number, 5 reported no detection, 17 published no value, 1 not held by us not statedtoo few districts reported for a county figure to mean anything (we state one at 17 of 28) 1 at or above 4 ppt, which is also the legal limit
PFOS measured in ppt · legal limit 4, binding from 2029 6 of 286 published a number, 5 reported no detection, 16 published no value, 1 not held by us not statedtoo few districts reported for a county figure to mean anything (we state one at 17 of 28) 4 at or above 4 ppt, which is also the legal limit
PFHxS measured in ppt · no federal limit 5 of 285 published a number, 6 reported no detection, 12 published no value, 5 not held by us not statedtoo few districts reported for a county figure to mean anything (we state one at 17 of 28) 3 at or above 3 ppt
Perchlorate measured in ppb · no federal limit 5 of 285 published a number, 5 reported no detection, 18 not held by us not statedtoo few districts reported for a county figure to mean anything (we state one at 17 of 28) 5 at or above 1 ppb

A district that published no value has usually not skipped the test. 26 of these 28 districts buy treated water from a wholesaler, and for a bought supply the plant-level contaminants are typically sampled upstream under the wholesaler’s permit number and reported there instead. An empty cell is a question about where the measurement was filed, not evidence that the water was clean.

Uranium is held back. Twenty-six districts publish a uranium figure, but they publish it in picocuries per litre and the only uranium health line in our registry is a mass concentration in micrograms per litre. Converting between the two needs an isotopic assumption we would be inventing, so the readings are held rather than graded.

Hard water: real, expensive, and not a health problem

Orange County water is hard. Across the 24 districts that publish a hardness figure the median is 242 milligrams per litre as calcium carbonate, running from 66.1 to 392. Anything above about 180 is classed as “very hard”, so most of the county is well inside that band.

Hardness is dissolved calcium and magnesium. It is what leaves scale in a kettle, shortens the life of a water heater, spots glassware, and makes soap harder to rinse. Those are real costs and a softener genuinely fixes them. What hardness is not is a health risk: no health-based limit exists for it anywhere, and the evidence does not support treating it as a contaminant.

We say this plainly because hardness is the single most searched thing about tap water, and much of what is written about it is sold by someone with a softener to move. If your water spots the glasses and scales the kettle, that is hardness doing exactly what hardness does, and it tells you nothing about the contaminants above.

What this means if you live in Orange County

The county picture is reassuring on the regulated contaminants and mixed on disinfection byproducts. What it cannot do is tell you about your house, because the two things most likely to matter there both happen after the water leaves the district.

  1. Find out which district you are actually in.

    Service areas do not follow city lines, and plenty of people are wrong about which district serves them. Enter your address and we will name it along with what its own report says.

  2. If you are in south county, treat the byproducts.

    Imported surface water carries more organic matter, and chlorine turns that into trihalomethanes. A carbon filter at the drinking tap is the straightforward fix, and the shower is a separate exposure route worth handling on its own.

  3. Test your own tap for lead, whatever your district reports.

    A district’s figure comes from a sample of other people’s homes. If your house predates 1986, or you have never had the plumbing checked, the district’s clean result does not transfer to your tap.

  4. Treat hardness as an appliance decision, not a health one.

    A softener is worth it if scale is costing you water heaters and fixtures. It is not a filter, it does not touch anything in the table above, and nobody should sell it to you as though it does.

What this page cannot tell you

It is the county, not your district. Every figure here is a county figure, and the spread between districts inside Orange County is wide. Trihalomethanes alone run from 2 to 59 ppb, so a county median describes the region and does not predict any one supply. The address lookup is the tool for that, and every district publishes its own report in full through the state portal linked in the method below.

It is the district, not your house. Everything here stops where the water main meets your property. Lead and copper enter after that point, and so does anything your own plumbing, filters or water heater contribute.

It is the most recent report, not this morning. These reports cover 2023, 2024, 2025, because districts publish annually and not on the same schedule. A figure here is the most recent published one, not a live reading.

The PFAS limits are not yet in force. The federal PFOA and PFOS limits are approved but do not bind until April 2029. Where the table shows a district over one of those, it is over a rule that has not started, not in violation of one that has.

How this was built, and what it cannot tell you

Every number on this page was read out of a district’s own published water quality report. Nothing here is reconstructed from state monitoring records, which is what separates this page from our national figures and why it can state a county median at all.

What was read
The most recent published water quality report for all 28 retail water districts in Orange County, covering 31 public water systems and 3.2 million people. Report years: 2023, 2024, 2025.
Where the reports came from
The California State Water Resources Control Board’s electronic Annual Report portal, which is the citable copy of each district’s report. Extraction was hand-checked against the source documents.
How a county figure is decided
Stated only where at least 17 of 28 districts (60%) published a number. Below that the coverage is shown and no figure is given, because a median over a few districts describes which reports we hold rather than the county’s water. Where a district runs more than one public water system, its highest reading represents it.
What an empty cell means
Four different things, kept apart on every row: the district reported no detection; the district published no value for it; or we do not hold an entry. Only the first is a statement about the water. 26 of these districts buy treated water from a wholesaler, whose plant-level results are often filed under the wholesaler’s permit number instead.
Why no district is named
The unit of every finding here is the county. These are public agencies publishing their own compliance data, all of it legal, and a league table of them would turn a source-water difference into a scoreboard. Each district’s full report is public at the state portal above, and the lookup will tell you which one serves your address.
How this compares nationally
Our national reconstruction covers 38,332 community water systems and is built a different way, from raw state monitoring records rather than published reports. The two disagree in places and the published report is the one that is right. The national overview sets out that method in full.